Lake Erie Views

Living a Great Lake Life

Five Ways to Get Motivated in February

Leave a comment

Five Ways to Get Motivated Today 2/22/2013.

Seeking inspiration to get to work or even the motivation to get out of bed in February in Northeast Ohio is a challenge. Today is one of those days. Living along Lake Erie today means no sunshine, winds gusting 20 mph from the southwest, temperatures in the low thirties, and schools from Milan to Monroeville closed under the threat of freezing rain.

Here are five things that inspired me this morning:

Gracie the Greatest Rescue Ever

Greatest Rescue Ever

A good night’s sleep.  For you lucky people who regularly go to bed at night and sleep a full 8 hours without waking up, or only wake for a quick pit stop, this is a no-brainer. For the rest of us whose brains run on overdrive at least 20 hours a day, a good night’s sleep is sublime.

My dog, Gracie. Her mantra for a morning walk is like that of the postal service, “Come rain, snow, sleet or hail, we deliver the U.S. mail.”  They call dogs like her a “rescue” dog but I often wonder, “who rescued whom?” She’s got the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen.

A Song by Donovan.  Close your eyes and really listen to Happiness Runs. Rinse your mind and repeat as often as necessary.

A Tara Brach video.  What a thrill to discover Tara Brach on google plus! Her uplifting articles and book, Radical Acceptance, inspired me for years. Her google plus page let me see her “live” for the first time. This morning I watched the first 10 minutes of her video on forgiveness. Watching her speak is not a quick motivational fix, since most of the videos are at least 30 minutes long. But giving her 10 minutes of my full attention this morning was like a mini-meditation session and felt good.

Writing 2/22/2013. What can I say? I’m a sucker for numerology. This may even motivate me to pay some bills-or not.

What motivates you to walk out the door on a frigid,  February Day?

Copyright 2013 Ann Steinemann

Author: Ann Steinemann

I am a full-time, Real Estate Professional with over 25 years’ experience purchasing and selling residential real estate in Northern Ohio and Southern California. I grew up in Erie County, along the beautiful shores of Lake Erie, and chose to make this area my home as an adult. My brokerage is Russell Real Estate Services, a private Ohio company with offices in Erie, Lorain and Cuyahoga Counties. If you're thinking of relocating to Northern Ohio or looking to invest in a home or resort property in Ottawa, Erie, Huron, Lorain or Cuyahoga County, let me be your guide to finding the best of what this great Lake Erie area has to offer. Please visit my website greatlakeeriehomes.com or feel free to call my office at 419-625-5555.

Leave a comment